Accidentally Sharing Good Fortune Savings Fortune With Coupons

I am such a dunce sometimes. And I can only assume that you are all laughing or nodding your heads when you read this, because we all get the “blonde” in us once in a while don’t we?

Accident #1-

This past summer, when the FREE coupons came out in the paper for a FREE Dr. Pepper 2 Liter, I had collected almost 40! I could have surely cleared the shelf in the Colonial Heights Walmart. I decided I would get that last and put that stack of coupons back in my basket- or did I?

I left that aisle and went to the baby section. An over aggressive custodian type employee followed us for a while talking to the girls and got much too close for comfort. So with that, I headed to the other side of the store to see what deals I could get in cosmetics. Funny though, my Dr. Pepper coupons never made it to the other side of the store.

Question remains if the employee who was way too much in our space and hanging on our cart was swift enough to grab the stack, or did I set them down?

I often do this and I have to fuss at myself every time I catch myself. I sort my coupons outside of the cart, on a clear shelf or a flat end cap.

I get so tired of my toddlers trying to rip them from my hands.

Did I do that with the Dr. Pepper coupons or did the employee weasel his way into my stash after seeing me about to load up on Dr. Peppers?

Irregardless, I told my husband God simply did not want us to have 40 Dr. Peppers with our physique in much need of a new year’s workout routine!

Accident 2-

Yesterday I had loaded my $4 referral credit to my Kroger card from P&G. I have a card in both of our names and I’m not 100% sure that is allowed. I always feel sneaky when I get a hot eCoupon and we both checkout. But maybe that is OK.

What is probably not OK is that I have one from my old college address that I stumbled upon last year so we have an extra account. I registered it in Pheobe’s name now but she obviously isn’t grocery shopping. I use it when there is a really hot deal and we really need a little extra boost in our grocery savings.

So what happened yesterday? I hit all the deals. We had a very very small amount to spend on our groceries for the next two weeks. I did the coupon intensive and planned out every meal I could imagine on the cheap and used the rest to fill up the SUV gas hog mobile.

Chris checked out with his itemized order. I was on the ball too, I had these checkouts down to the penny. I was frowning and pouting earlier at Target because I was actually twenty cents off in my calculations- HA!

So back to Kroger, Chris had already gone through, now I was going through checkout. I was a little flustered as Pheobe was running laps around my cart and shouting over the cashier talking to me about my coupons.

A fellow I had been talking to in the meat department- who had admired my coupon caddy- he whispered over if he could borrow my Kroger card because he didn’t have one.

Of course, I would help him out, but which one to hand him. Chris had his card, I had my card, and if I have gave him my card, he would get my $4.

So I gave him my old college card. He checked out, gave it back, and gave me a gracious thanks. He was such a kind guy, one of those good hearted older men that love to talk to the kids and tell you about their grandchildren who live far away. We find that a lot at Kroger.

So what is the funny here… I had loaded another $4 to that old college card! I felt sneaky doing it and I think I needed to pass that karma along or God was shaking his head a me, whatever you might want to believe. So the nice fellow at Kroger received $4 off his order, courtesy of me and P&G!

Do you do these things or is it just me? We love sharing good will with couponing. These two were accidents. I have a few more stories that I will share in the future on this topic. It is fun to look at the bigger picture with something as silly as coupons.

There is a lot of good that you can do with coupons, don’t worry so much about missing out on a great deal or forgetting your coupons, enjoy them, appreciate them, and share the good wealth when you do have them!

Anna

About Anna Kroyer Cahoon

I'm a savings savvy stay at home mom. Our family loves to play the grocery game and we have to save every way we can. Through Saving With Anna, we exchange savings ideas and share great deals with friends, family, and faithful followers. With Inspire-gize, I am taking charge of my life and its mission in 2012!

Leave a Reply

