Homemade Laundry Detergent!

Greetings Saving With Anna Family!

We here at Saving With Anna have embarked on a new frugal adventure! This morning we FINALLY mixed up our homemade laundry detergent. I have had the supplies for almost a year and got ready to mix several times and then found hot deals on store sold detergent.

I used several folks’ recipes to come up with ours and I believe it will change as we start using it and see how it goes. I’ve read several articles about how to create your own mix. I was not daring enough to make my own liquid mix; however, those of you that have septic systems should not be using powdered detergent and I recommend The Frugal Girls’ liquid homemade mix, http://thefrugalgirls.com/2010/08/how-to-make-homemade-laundry-detergent.html

Lily’s Super Powder- LSP

1 part Borax (laundry booster)
1 part Arm & Hammer Washing Soda (Not baking soda- this is different)
2 parts bar soap (we used half Fels-Naptha Soap and half Ivory)
A water proof storage container and a tablespoon measurement spoon or cup

Grate the bar soap(s) with a cheese grater into fine pieces.

Mix 1 part Borax with 1 part Arm & Hammer Washing Soda and 2 parts bar soap.

Store in the water proof, air tight container.

Use one tablespoon at first and see how it does with your water. So many factors can change what is the best concentrate for your washer and water type. We are about to learn what ours is! I understand most folks will use 1-6 tablespoons.

***

You can start out using cups as your parts to mix the detergent. That is what we did but when you end up with an extra half bar of soap, I like to just have it in my head what the mix is so I can easily make use of the products that I have left.

I’ve heard a lot of people adding scent by way of a good bar soap such as Yardley’s London Oatmeal & Almond or English Lavendar. I’ve found his at Walgreens and Kroger. Walgreen’s puts out a coupon in their ad occasionally for Yardley’s. With migraines and sensitivities in our family, I did not try a scent.

So where do you find these washing substances? I found that Walmart, Kroger, Farmer’s Foods, and one Food Lion and one Target carried these supplies. These three products aren’t as main stream anymore so you will find them in stores that cater to country, thrifty, or fashionably aged folks.

For the water tight container, I used an old plastic Cascade Dish Detergent container and have a backup as a round yellow Domino Sugar container. I like the flip cap on the Cascade one.

Wish us luck! Write in or post if you are making your own homemade products. We would love to post and share your recipe!

Anna

About Anna Kroyer Cahoon

I'm a savings savvy stay at home mom. Our family loves to play the grocery game and we have to save every way we can. Through Saving With Anna, we exchange savings ideas and share great deals with friends, family, and faithful followers. With Inspire-gize, I am taking charge of my life and its mission in 2012!

4 responses »

  1. What’s the deal with septic tanks???

    Reply
  2. I’m relying on my Grandfather’s advise, a master HVAC skilled tradesman. He says after years of experience, he has learned that you never should use powdered laundry detergent with a septic system as it can cause accumulation that can lead to septic problems or even failure.

    In doing research online, I see this over and over and some people pointing out that many manufactured detergents contain additives that can clog the system. Homemade detergent would not… maybe? I’m also reading that all problems are based on local conditions and your home’s set up. Learned lessons are not hard and fast rules anymore with so many options and so much communication travelling across regions.

    All I really know is that I’ve always used liquid and have recently been using powdered. When comparing liquid to powder homemade detergent, the powder was so much easier to make! And now I have to switch our first load of laundry with the homemade detergent. More to come-

    Reply
  3. Pingback: FREE Sample of Purex Ultra Packs « Saving With Anna

  4. Update!!

    We are celebrating 6 months now making our own laundry detergent here at Saving With Anna. We love our success.

    We found that we can control a few things now and its costing is so very little to wash clothes.

    * We know exactly what is going into our detergent.
    * The smells are based on the bar soap that we are selecting, many handmade.
    * There is not more rushing around looking for great deals on detergent. We just write it on the list- make more!

    Has anyone else tried our recipe?

    Anna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

